Choir members to perform for statewide educators; Student to perform at All-State Choir

The “Maroon Standard,” Concordia Lutheran High School’s top choir, has been selected to perform at the 2023 Indiana Music Educators Association conference on Saturday, January 14. They will perform a 45-minute set featuring vocal jazz, sacred choral, and Christmas selections. The performance is free and open to the public on Saturday, January 14 at 4 p.m. at First Presbyterian Church in downtown Fort Wayne. The choir applied and was selected from choirs statewide to perform.

“We are very excited and honored to have the opportunity to share our music and faith in song! It’s really impressive what our small group can do!” – Trinity Gonzalez ’23, Choir President

“It’s truly a humbling privilege to lead this incredible group of Christian young people. They’ve worked exceptionally hard and I’m excited to work toward our most poignant performance yet this Saturday at the IMEA Conference!” – Tavis Schlicker, Director of Choral Activities

Also, nine students from Concordia will join the best singers in the state to perform with the 2023 Indiana All-State Choir this Saturday at 6 p.m. at the historic Embassy Theater in downtown Fort Wayne. The All-State choir performance is free and open to the public.

Students from across the state auditioned for this opportunity in the fall. Judges selected the top singers in each voice part from 16 regions of Indiana. The best singers then received music and rehearsed regionally to prepare. The All-State choir experience is two days of rehearsing, learning, and growing culminating in a concert experience as part of the statewide IMEA conference. Renowned choral clinician, Dr. Brad Holmes, from Millikin University will direct the All-State choir.

Concordia students selected and performing in this year’s ICDA All-State Choir are:

Soprano:         Trinity Gonzalez ’23

Alto:                Morgan Rohde ’23 and Isa Lugo ’25 and Naomi Weber ’25

Tenor:             Yaphet Michael ’24 and Evan Gerig ’25

Bass:               Noah Schlicker ’24 and Richard Peperkorn ’24 and Yabi Yidnekchew ’25